A Three Outfit Day

These are the exhausting ones. I’m used to two outfit days. Days when I might work outside then change into the Jewelry Store clothes. Or Middle School outfit plus either yard work or Jewelry Store outfit. But today was a Three Outfit Day (it deserves the capitals).

First outfit: The Middle School – Due to a cold snap this one was decidedly inadequate. I spent the whole day freezing. The only upside is that shivering burns calories. I think I may have lost 2 lbs today.

Second outfit: The interview –  Outfit was flawless, interview decidedly less so. I’d found a management position at a company I used to work for. Called up, got an old boss who said he’d pull my resume and application from my applying to the position, and call me if it looked good. Called the next day, set up interview. Went in today only to be told he’d never gotten my information and that no, the position had changed too much since I worked there and I didn’t have the operational credentials for the position. Oh and that there was no way those could be learned quickly, so while he’d love to work with me again I’m not getting hired. 40 minutes of my life that I will not be getting back. I’d rather he’d just called and cancelled.

Third outfit: The dinner – Finally, warm at last. This was my last event as the president of a scholarship committee. Someone else gets to take over now. Which is more than a bit of a relief. Here’s hoping they are better delegating than I am. The woman whose shoes I filled did everything; I couldn’t manage on her level (none of the officers is sure how she managed to operate on her level), but I did have a good time trying. Next year I get to sit back and enjoy someone else’s hard work as a guest at the meetings instead of the central planner. The dinner was good though 3 waitstaff for 60 guests made the service just a little slow. But the company was good so who cares how long dinner took? An hour drive home, and at last I can start the wind down.

The wind down selection from the hoard: The Diva Frost’s a Cupcake by Krista Davis. Great cozy mystery, 6th in the series, I highly recommend all of them. I wish I had the main character for a neighbor, I’d be over her house every couple of days for a bite to eat!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

